Frequently Asked Questions

  • Do the police have to be involved if I go to the hospital?

For individuals over the age of 18, who arrive in the 96 hour window, the police can be involved at your request, but please note that there is a Non-Report option. This option does not involve the police in any way; they will not be notified. Victims who choose this option are able to complete the medical exam and the forensic evidence exam with a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner. The potential evidence collected in the forensic evidence exam will be stored for 2 years, in case the victim decides to make a corresponding police report.

For minors (anyone younger than 18) who have been sexually assaulted, the incident MUST be reported to law enforcement under Texas’ mandatory reporting laws.

If you are a survivor who is under 18, over 60, or disabled, it is important to understand the hospital’s mandated reporting requirements. Please call the hotline (800) 793-7273 to find out more.

© 2016 by Crisis Center of Southeast Texas

Proudly created by Wallabee Productions

  • Facebook